Border Songs by No More Deaths

Rory Wehrlie December 9, 2013
Border Songs by No More Deaths

Border Songs by No More Deaths / No Más Muertes

Product Description: Border Songs is a two-CD set of music and spoken word, in both English and Spanish, about the border and immigration. Major artists contributing include Pete Seeger, Sweet Honey in the Rock, Michael Franti and Spearhead, Calexico, Amos Lee, Katia Cardenal, Eliza Gilkyson, Tom Russell and many others. Music features a variety of different genres and styles including blues, corrido, cumbia, folk/Americana, hip hop, instrumental guitar, mambo, Nicaraguan new song, reggae, rock, and even an electronic recording of the wall itself. Spoken word artists include Margaret Randall, Charles Bowden, Mario Bencastro and Denise Chávez.

The album also comes with a 20-page booklet with an essay about conditions on the border and a powerful series of photographs.

The Good: ALL proceeds go to No More Deaths / No Más Muertes, a humanitarian organization that places water in the Arizona desert to prevent migrants from dying. No More Deaths staffs a base camp in the desert near the border and also provides food, medical assistance and clothing/blankets to migrants. No More Deaths also helps people who have been deported on the Mexican side of the border.

Each album purchased supplies 29 gallons of clean water, or the equivalent in food, medical supplies or clothing for people in extreme need!

Website: Learn More

Comment below!

Around the Web

Leave A Response »

You must be logged in to post a comment.